1st Test, Preview: India Face Uphill Task vs New Zealand In Wellington

Teenager Prithvi Shaw is more likely to make his go back to Take a look at cricket reverse fellow opener Mayank Agarwal in Rohit’s absence.

Shaw, who final performed a Take a look at fit in October 2018, made his ODI debut in opposition to New Zealand within the just-concluded collection between the 2 groups, and he’s anticipated to spouse Agarwal on the best of India’s batting order.

Shaw confronted pageant from Shubman Gill, who inspired with a double-century and a century in opposition to New Zealand A, however captain Virat Kohli hinted forward of the fit that it’s going to be Shaw who gets the nod.

With Ishant Sharma additionally are compatible to play, having recovered from an ankle damage, India are more likely to move in with a bowling assault comprising him, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami, with Ravichandran Ashwin because the spinner.

Hanuma Vihari, who scored a century within the warm-up sport, is ready to start out because the 6th batsman.

Whilst Tim Southee and Trent Boult are positive to start out for New Zealand, there are doubts over Neil Wagner’s involvement within the first fit. Wagner is anticipating the delivery of his kid and would possibly go away the workforce to sign up for his circle of relatives.

Matt Henry was once known as up as duvet for Wagner, with the uncapped Kyle Jamieson additionally within the squad.

Within the spin division, New Zealand known as up Ajaz Patel forward of leg-spinner Todd Astle.


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham (vice-captain), Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wicket-keeper), Matt Henry

India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma

The fit is scheduled to start out at four am IST.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *