Aces' A'ja Wilson earns AP WNBA player of the year honors

A’ja Wilson has been the cornerstone of the Las Vegas franchise since she used to be drafted and took her sport to every other degree this season, incomes her The Related Press WNBA participant of the 12 months honors.

The previous No. 1 total pick out 3 years in the past led the Aces to an 18-Four file all the way through the shortened season and the highest seed within the WNBA playoffs that start Tuesday in Bradenton, Florida.

“She is aware of who she is, she is aware of the place she’s going,” stated Las Vegas trainer Invoice Laimbeer. “She is aware of that she’s in rate, and she or he’s liable for our crew. She has taken this upon her shoulders.”


Wilson averaged 20.five issues, eight.five rebounds and two blocks this 12 months for the Aces and perspectives herself as a extra all-around participant now.

“I think like I am a extra entire participant now then after I first were given into the league,” Wilson stated in a web based interview. “Even if I is probably not capturing the ball smartly, I will in finding different ways to assist my crew win.”

The 6-foot-Four Wilson, who grew to become 24 ultimate month, used to be decided on through the 16-member media panel that votes at the weekly AP energy ballot. She gained 11 votes. Seattle’s Breanna Stewart used to be 2d with 4. It is the 5th season that the AP panel has decided on postseason award winners.

Candace Parker edged Alyssa Thomas and Alysha Clark for defensive participant of the 12 months honors. Parker, in her 13th season, gained 5 votes. Thomas and Clark each and every had 4.

“Once I made my choice to return to IMG this season, my focal point used to be on running exhausting on a regular basis to assist put our crew ready to win a championship. For us, that begins with protecting at a top degree and shutting defensive possessions with a rebound,” Parker stated. “Total, our crew has been in a position to do this and I am venerated to be known for my function on that finish of the ground. The award is a testomony to my teammates executing on protection and our whole training team of workers.”

Minnesota’s Crystal Dangerfield used to be the runaway winner for rookie of the 12 months. The second one-round draft pick out changed into the second one consecutive Lynx participant to win the award, becoming a member of Napheesa Collier. The Lynx’s level guard averaged 16.2 issues and three.6 assists this season.

She in particular excelled within the fourth quarter. Dangerfield had the second one maximum overall issues within the league within the ultimate duration in the back of simplest Arike Ogunbwale. The UConn grad averaged 6.five issues a sport within the fourth.

Different award winners come with Las Vegas’ Dearica Hamby, who repeated because the 6th lady of the 12 months; Stewart as comeback participant of the 12 months and Atlanta’s Betnijah Laney as maximum progressed participant.

Wilson additionally headlined the AP All-WNBA crew. She used to be a unanimous selection at the side of Stewart. The have been joined at the first crew through Parker, Courtney Vandersloot of Chicago and Arike Ogunbowale of Dallas. The second one crew incorporated Phoenix teammates Diana Taurasi and Skylar Diggins-Smith, Connecticut teammates DeWanna Bonner and Alyssa Thomas, and Minnesota’s Napheesa Collier.

Dangerfield used to be joined at the all-rookie crew through Satou Sabally of Dallas, Chennedy Carter of Atlanta, Julie Allemand of Indiana and Jazmine Jones of New York.

The WNBA’s awards might be launched over the process the playoffs.



The Las Vegas Aces completed atop the AP Energy Ballot, a place they held for 3 of the general 4 weeks of the season. Seattle used to be 2d. The Typhoon have been adopted through Los Angeles, Minnesota and Phoenix. Connecticut, Chicago, Washington, Dallas, Atlanta, Indiana and New York.


Myisha Hines-Allen averaged 24.three issues, nine.five rebounds and three.three assists to assist Washington move Four-Zero ultimate week and clinch the general playoff spot. A’ja Wilson additionally gained votes after she led Las Vegas to the highest seed within the postseason.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *