How would a 353-team NCAA tournament bracket work? We’re glad you asked.

Quite than bet at how this season will play out underneath bizarre cases, this can be a take a look at how issues may have appeared like with ultimate 12 months’s most commonly finished season.

With 353 groups, there may well be 64 teams of 5 – 6 groups. In flip, there may well be 32 websites (for the sake of comfort, it’s the highest 32 groups from March’s ultimate Washington Submit bracket projection). The following 32 groups come with a mixture of projected at-larges, near-misses and a handful of mid-majors, they usually will be the most sensible seed in their very own crew (regardless that wouldn’t play at house).

In each and every five- or six-team crew, the highest one or two groups would have a bye in a single-elimination bracket over a weekend. Two groups would emerge from each and every website online and advance to the spherical of 64 the next week.

Thus far, now not too loopy. Let’s shake that up. Many of the box may well be slotted locally for value containment. There are exceptions to even out the first-weekend fields, with the longest journeys most commonly passed to techniques that completed at or close to the ground in their leagues.

That is the spot during which the Large Ten’s excellent season creates a headache. There’s an overload of web sites within the higher Midwest, and now not sufficient alongside the East Coast. Only one or two extra ACC or SEC groups within the most sensible 64 and a pair much less from the Large Ten would make the geography paintings even higher.

One different quirk for this workout: The NCAA can get its bracket mojo going by way of seeding the groups that continue to exist the hole weekend from 1 to 64. Everybody’s (faraway) place of job pool is stored.

Make no mistake, those groupings of groups are now not completely even. It might be tricky to account for geography, warding off opening weekend convention matchups and optimum aggressive stability. However it does supply a glimpse of what issues may seem like.

And if that isn’t sufficient to soothe disgust over this transparent little bit of heresy, simply be mindful: After the enjoy of 2020, any NCAA event is best than no NCAA event.

Bracket Projection

(1) Kansas (with Central Arkansas, Missouri-Kansas Town, Saint Louis and Southern Illinois)

Oklahoma (with Missouri State, Oral Roberts, Sam Houston State and Tulsa)

(2) Baylor (with Alcorn State, Lamar, North Texas and UL Lafayette)

Texas (with Abilene Christian, Prairie View A&M, Rice, Texas A&M and Texas State)

(three) Gonzaga (with Idaho, Lengthy Seaside State, UL Monroe and Washington State)

New Mexico State (with Boise State, Cal State Fullerton, Jap Washington and Santa Clara)

(four) Dayton (with Cleveland State, Georgia, Lehigh, Miami Ohio and Niagara)

Cincinnati (with Bowling Inexperienced, Canisius, Loyola, Miami Florida and Youngstown State)

(five) San Diego State (with Oregon State, San Diego, Southeastern Louisiana and UC Santa Barbara)

UCLA (with Fresno State, Loyola Marymount, The Fort and UC Irvine)

(6) Florida State (with Bethune-Cookman, Florida Atlantic, Georgia Southern, North Florida and South Florida)

Florida (with Central Florida, Florida A&M, Florida Global, Georgia State and Stetson)

(7) Michigan State (with Central Connecticut, NJIT, Marist and Western Michigan)

Notre Dame (Central Michigan, St. John’s, UNC Wilmington and Wagner)

(eight) Villanova (with Drexel, Hartford, Los angeles Salle, Military and Princeton)

Rutgers (with Monmouth, Penn, Saint Joseph’s, Temple and UMass Lowell)

(nine) Duke (with Coastal Carolina, East Carolina, Elon, Mercer and North Carolina A&T)

N.C. State (with Charleston Southern, Charlotte, N.C. Central, South Carolina and Wofford)

(10) Seton Corridor (with Fordham, Lafayette, Lengthy Island, Rider and Stony Brook)

Vermont (with Military, Harvard, Hofstra, Sacred Middle and Saint Peter’s)

(11) Creighton (with Binghamton, Nebraska, South Dakota State and Southeast Missouri State)

Wichita State (with Kansas State, Maine, Nebraska-Omaha and Tennessee-Martin)

(12) Maryland (with Delaware, George Mason, Hampton, Morgan State and UMBC)

Richmond (with American, Coppin State, Georgetown, Longwood and Towson)

(13) Kentucky (with Chattanooga, Jap Kentucky, Center Tennessee, Presbyterian and Wake Woodland)

Arkansas (with Belmont, Furman, North Carolina, South Carolina State and USC Upstate)

(14) Wisconsin (with Florida Gulf Coast, Inexperienced Bay, Holy Go and Valparaiso)

Minnesota (with Kennesaw State, Loyola Chicago, Milwaukee and Troy)

(15) Louisville (with Davidson, Lipscomb, Morehead State, UNC Asheville and Vanderbilt)

Oklahoma State (with Faculty of Charleston, Gardner-Webb, Murray State, Tennessee and Western Kentucky)

(16) Oregon (with Cal State Northridge, Pacific, Portland State and Seattle)

Stanford (with Cal Baptist, Hawaii, Idaho State and Portland)

(17) Butler (with Columbia, Illinois State, IPFW and Missouri)

Indiana (with Ball State, Cornell, Evansville and IUPUI)

(18) Auburn (with Alabama State, Jacksonville State, McNeese State, Samford and South Alabama)

Alabama (with Alabama A&M, New Orleans, North Alabama, Tennessee Tech and UAB)

(19) West Virginia (with Austin Peay, Marshall, Mount St. Mary’s, Pittsburgh and Western Carolina)

East Tennessee State (with Appalachian State, Clemson, James Madison, Tennessee State and Winthrop)

(20) Ohio State (with Duquesne, Kent State, Northern Kentucky and St. Francis Pa.)

Xavier (with Robert Morris, Ohio, St. Bonaventure and Wright State)

(21) Penn State (with Buffalo, Bucknell, Siena and St. Francis Brooklyn)

Akron (with Colgate, Dartmouth, Fairleigh Dickinson, Iona and Syracuse)

(22) Michigan (with Albany, Detroit, Jap Michigan and New york)

Marquette (with Brown, Fairfield, Oakland and Toledo)

(23) Saint Mary’s (with California, Nevada, Sacramento State and UC Davis)

Southern California (with Cal Poly, Cal State Bakersfield, Montana, San Francisco and San Jose State)

(24) Brigham Younger (with North Dakota, Southern Utah, Utah and Wyoming)

Utah State (with North Dakota State, Utah Valley, Washington and Weber State)

(25) Virginia (with George Washington, Norfolk State, Radford, UNC Greensboro and William & Mary)

Liberty (with Howard, Previous Dominion, Virginia Commonwealth, Virginia Tech and VMI)

(26) Illinois (with Chicago State, Indiana State, Memphis and SIU Edwardsville)

Purdue (with Bradley, Jap Illinois, Illinois-Chicago and Western Illinois)

(27) Colorado (with Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Colorado State, Denver and Houston Baptist)

Texas Tech (with Air Power, Incarnate Phrase, Northern Colorado and South Dakota)

(28) Iowa (with DePaul, Drake, Top Level, Maryland-Jap Shore and Northern Illinois)

Northern Iowa (with Campbell, Delaware State, Iowa State and Northwestern)

(29) LSU (with Arkansas State, Georgia Tech, Jackson State, Northwestern State and Southern Mississippi)

Mississippi State (with Louisiana Tech, Little Rock, Nicholls State, Southern and Tulane)

(30) Houston (with Grambling, Mississippi, Southern Methodist, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi and UT Rio Grande Valley)

Stephen F. Austin (with Jacksonville, Texas Christian, Texas Southern, UT Arlington and UT San Antonio)

(31) Arizona (with New Mexico, Northern Arizona, Texas-El Paso and UC Riverside)

Arizona State (with Grand Canyon, Montana State, Mississippi Valley, Pepperdine and UNLV)

(32) Windfall (with Boston Faculty, Massachusetts, Merrimack, Northeastern and Quinnipiac)

Yale (with Boston U., Bryant, Connecticut, New Hampshire and Rhode Island

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *