National Sports Awards 2020: Sportspersons Receive Honours Virtually

India’s wearing heroes have been bestowed the yearly nationwide awards in an extraordinary on-line rite amid the COVID-19 pandemic right through which athletes logged in from more than one towns to be honoured by way of President Ram Nath Kovind. This 12 months a whopping 74 have been picked for the nationwide honours, together with an remarkable 5 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratnas and 27 Arjuna awardees. Of those, 60 attended the digital rite carried out throughout 11 Sports activities Authority of India (SAI) centres in quite a lot of towns.

Cricketers Rohit Sharma (Khel Ratna) and Ishant Sharma (Arjuna) overlooked the rite because of their IPL commitments within the UAE, whilst megastar wrestler Vinesh Phogat (Khel Ratna) and badminton participant Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (Arjuna) needed to pull out of the rite after trying out sure for the scary virus.

The opposite 3 Khel Ratna winners — TT participant Manika Batra, Paralympic gold-medallist Mariyappan Thangavelu and girls’s hockey captain Rani Rampal — attended the rite.

Whilst Batra logged in from Pune, Thangavelu and Rampal joined from the Bengaluru SAI centre.

President Kovind applauded as names of the attending awardees have been referred to as out and their achievements cited as is the conference. Lacking, then again, used to be the grandeur of the Rashtrapati Bhavan’s Durbar Corridor.

“That is the primary awards rite in COVID occasions right through which the President has participated,” Sports activities Minister Kiren Rijiju mentioned originally of the rite.

The athletes can sit up for enhanced money awards this 12 months. The prize cash for the Khel Ratna used to be greater to Rs 25 lakh from the former quantity of Rs 7.five lakh this morning.

Arjuna awardees, 22 of who attended the rite, got Rs 15 lakh, which is Rs 10 lakh greater than the former sum.

The Dhronacharya (Lifetime) awardees, who have been previous given Rs five lakh, have been awarded Rs 15 lakh, whilst the common Dhronacharya got here with Rs 10 lakh as a substitute of Rs five lakh in step with awardee. Dhyanchand Awardees got Rs 10 lakh as a substitute of Rs five lakh.

The stern COVID-19 protocol intended that for the primary time in 44 years’ historical past of the awards, the winners, visitors and dignitaries didn’t accumulate on the Durbar Corridor to be recognised for his or her excellence.

The highest Arjuna awardees this 12 months incorporated megastar sprinter Dutee Chand, girl cricketer Deepti Sharma, golfer Aditi Ashok and males’s hockey group striker Akashdeep Singh.

The Dronacharya award within the life-time class used to be bestowed on 8 coaches, the distinguished amongst them being archery trainer Dharmendra Tiwary, Naresh Kumar (tennis), Shiv Singh (boxing) and Romesh Pathania (hockey).

In common class, there have been 5 recipients of the Dronacharya, together with hockey trainer Jude Felix and taking pictures trainer Jaspal Rana amongst others. In a sad flip of occasions of Friday, a Dronacharya (Lifetime) winner, athletics trainer Purushottam Rai, died in Bengaluru after struggling a center assault.

The Dhyan Chand award this 12 months used to be given to 15 people, together with Sukhvinder Singh Sandhu (soccer), Trupti Murgunde (badminton) and Nandan Bal (tennis) amongst others. Golfer Aditi Ashok and previous footballer Sukhwinder Singh Sandhu didn’t attend the award serve as as they’re in another country.

All well being and protection protocols, protecting with the information of the Well being Ministry, have been adopted on the venues the place dignitaries and awardees have been provide.

In truth, awardees have been noticed clad in PPE kits as they made their option to the rite venues. As in step with the path of the Sports activities Ministry, each and every award winner needed to go through a COVID-19 check ahead of reporting to the venue.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: Rohit Sharma (Cricket), Mariyappan Thangavelu (Para Athletics), Manika Batra (Desk Tennis), Vinesh Phogat (Wrestling), Rani Rampal (Hockey).

Arjuna Award: Atanu Das (Archery), Dutee Chand (Athletics), Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy (Badminton), Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty (Badminton), Vishesh Bhriguvanshi (Basketball), Manish Kaushik (Boxing), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), Ishant Sharma (Cricket), Deepti Sharma (Cricket), Sawant Ajay Anant (Equestrian), Sandesh Jhingan (Soccer), Aditi Ashok (Golfing), Akashdeep Singh (Hockey), Deepika (Hockey), Deepak (Kabaddi), Kale Sarika Sudhakar (Kho Kho), Dattu Baban Bhokanal (Rowing), Manu Bhaker (Capturing), Saurabh Chaudhary (Capturing), Madhurika Patkar (Desk Tennis), Divij Sharan (Tennis), Shiva Keshavan (Wintry weather Sports activities), Divya Kakran (Wrestling), Rahul Mindful (Wrestling), Suyash Narayan Jadhav (Para Swimming), Sandeep (Para Athletics), Manish Narwal (Para Capturing).

Dronacharya Award: (Lifestyles- Time Class): Dharmendra Tiwary (Archery), Purushotham Rai (Athletics), Shiv Singh (Boxing), Romesh Pathania (Hockey), Krishan Kumar Hooda (Kabaddi), Vijay Bhalchandra Munishwar (Para Powerlifting), Naresh Kumar (Tennis), Om Parkash Dahiya (Wrestling).

Dronacharya Award (Common Class): Jude Felix (Hockey), Yogesh Malviya (Mallakhamb), Jaspal Rana (Capturing), Kuldeep Kumar Handoo (Wushu), Gaurav Khanna (Para Badminton). Dhyan Chand Award: Kuldip Singh Bhullar (Athletics), Jincy Philips (Athletics), Pradeep Shrikrishna Gandhe (Badminton), Trupti Murgunde (Badminton), N Usha(Boxing), Lakha Singh (Boxing), Sukhvinder Singh Sandhu (Soccer), Ajit Singh (Hockey), Manpreet Singh (Kabaddi), J Ranjith Kumar (Para Athletics), Satyaprakash Tiwari (Para Badminton), Manjeet Singh (Rowing), Overdue Shri Sachin Nag (Swimming), Nandan Bal (Tennis), Netarpal Hooda (Wrestling).

Tenzing Norgay Nationwide Journey Awards: Anita Devi (Land Journey), Col Sarfraz Singh (Land Journey), Taka Tamut (Land Journey), Narender Singh (Land Journey), Keval Hiren Kakka (Land Journey), Satendra Singh (Water Journey), Gajanand Yadava (Air Journey), Overdue Magan Bissa (Lifestyles Time Success).

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy: Panjab College, Chandigarh

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar:

Identity and Nurturing of Budding and Younger Skill: Lakshya Institute, Military Sports activities Institute.

Encouragement to sports activities thru Company Social Duty: Oil and Herbal Gasoline Company (ONGC) Ltd.


Employment of sportspersons and sports activities welfare measures: Air Drive Sports activities Regulate Board.

Sports activities for Construction: World Institute of Sports activities Control  

Subjects discussed on this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *